Summary of learning from Part 4 : Light

Summary of learning from Part 4: Light

The exercises in part 4 seemed to be endless to me.  I became aware quite early on that I was taking a rather mechanical approach and so made a conscious effort to free myself from this by, yes, doing the exercises, but also attempting to inject more creativity show improvements I’d made as time passed.

I’m just about to write-up the Assignment and so thought this would be a good  time to identify learning from the exercises.

Exercise 1 and measuring light

  • Some underexposure works well on flowers and foliage as it brings out the colour.
  • Over-exposure (and consequent clipping) affects the sharpness of an image so it’s best to use spot exposure metering on brighter parts and then deal with the shadow detail in processing.
  • If the highlights are too clipped then playing around with exposure in adobe CR won’t bring back detail that wasn’t there in the first place..
  • Large extremes of contrast are difficult. You either have to decide which is more important and expose accordingly or use bracketing.  Exposure fusion can work quite well if you’ve used a tripod and don’t alter the position of the camera.
  • I made life complicated for myself by using several different, new, lenses. Getting used to them diverted some attention away from the purpose of the exercise.

Exercise  2 – Higher and lower sensitivity

  • Longer lenses need a higher shutter speed if they’re going to be hand-held, which often means using a higher ISO and the risk of more ‘noise’

Exercises 3 and 4 – Colour temperature

  • Auto white balance provides varying temperatures which might be more appropriate than using the different WB settings which give standardized temperatures.

Exercise 5: Light through the day

  • Realisation that I do tend to take a lot of photographs in the middle of the day .
  • Shadows can create more interesting compositions.
  • Make sure to check all my settings.

Exercise 6 – Sun low in the sky

  • I prefer the quality of the light in the  late afternoon as the colours are more intense and I can use shadows creatively.

Exercise 7 – Cloudy weather and rain

  • The effect of rain deepens colours, detail and texture.
  • I love rainbows

Exercise 11 – The lighting angle

  • Backlighting shows more of the shape of the subject
  • Raised flash or light coming from 45 degrees overhead at the side are best at showing the form of the subject.
  • It’s not good to use flash on Alabaster because it seems to pass right through it.

Exercises 12 to 14 – Photographic lighting

  • I prefer the use of natural light wherever possible.
  • I need more practice to build my confidence in using photographic lighting – probably a day workshop would be good and more intensive for me.
8th December 2011

 

2 Comments on “Summary of learning from Part 4 : Light”

  1. vicki loader says:

    Hey Catherine

    You have been busy. Having seen how much work you have done, I view the section on light with equal measures of glee and trepidation!

    Think summarising your ‘learning’ was a good idea. Think too often we pass through the exercises without taking time to reflect on what we may have learnt from them!

    PS I love rainbows too!

    • It certainly seemed a lot of exercises although I haven’t compared with the previous sections. Took me longer as well because of having to begin to get to grips with photographic lighting – a definite learning need for me for the future even though I prefer natural light anyway. I was going to summarise my main learning points in the Assignment post but decided that a separate one would be better. Glad you like rainbows as well. I’ve always loved them but have learned that gold can come in many guises – some of them quite unexpected!


Leave a Reply

